Sunday, July 6, 2008

Religion in the Oval Office gives us a look at the different Christian denominations of presidents in the U.S.:

• Episcopalian: 11 presidents

• Presbyterian: 10

• Methodist: 5

• Baptist: 4

• Unitarian: 4

• Disciples of Christ: 3

• Reformed: 2

• Quaker: 2

• Catholic: 1

• Congregationalist: 2

• Jehovah's Witness: 1

Note: The total is greater than the number of men who have been president because some changed denominations during their lifetime.

Last 50 years: Here are presidents' affiliations going back to 1958: Eisenhower: Jehovah's Witness, later Presbyterian. Kennedy: Catholic. Johnson: Disciples of Christ. Nixon: Quaker. Ford: Episcopalian. Carter: Baptist. Reagan: Disciples of Christ. Bush: Episcopalian. Clinton: Baptist. Bush: Methodist.

John McCain: He was raised in the Episcopalian tradition but now attends a Baptist church. "Do I advertise my faith? Do I talk about it all the time? No," he said in a 2007 interview.

Barack Obama: He wasn't raised in any particular faith. In the mid-1980s, he became a Christian. He has no church home, having recently quit Trinity United Church of Christ after disagreeing with positions of its pastor, the Rev. Jeremiah Wright.

Stumble Upon Toolbar

No comments: